Interrail through Balkans

Some time ago I posted on my “interrail” through balkans I had on 2009. It was a 23 days trip, and I want to post it again in english in this new blog. This time with pictures and some details.

We took a flight (Vueling) from Madrid to Venezia. Then we took a train from Venezia to Mestre. From Mestre to Triestre by train again. Then we got in Slovenia by coach ending in Piran, where our interrail began!

Slovenia: Piran, Ljubljana, Bled, Postyojna
Croazia: Zagreb, Plitvice, Split, Dubrovnik
Bosnia Herzegovina: Mostar, Sarajevo
Serbia: Belgrado
Bulgaria: Sofia
Grecia: Thessaloniki, Kalampaka, Atene.
Spagna: Barcellona (Fly back from Atene to Madrid)

Remember it is not worth to buy an Interrail ticket for this kind of trip. For mediterranean countries (Slovenia, Croatia) is better to move by coaches. Then when you travel through the other countries (Bulgaria, Bosnia y Herzegovina, Grecia, Montenegro, República de Macedonia, Rumania, Serbia,  and Turquía) you can buy a Balkan Flexipass, cheaper than an Interrail pass.  Hostels and bed&breakfast are really chip, so if you are like us and you want a low cost travel, this could be one of your best choices!

If you want to have a look to the pics I took, please click here

This trip has been one of the most exciting trips of my life. People is beutiful, lovely and strong. It is a “complete” travel. You see history, monuments, people, cities, beaches, nature… I am sure i’ll be back.

if you have questions, just ask!

About Raffaella di iorio Photography

I am an italian girl but – at the moment and since 2006 – I live in Madrid, Spain. I am always dreaming of being travelling all around the world… with my Canon in the hands of course. My biggest dream is to be a professional photographer. Guys, I am working on it. In this blog you will find pics and travels memories, desires, ideas, news… and me. Just myself.
This entry was posted in Photos and Photography, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interrail through Balkans

  1. Robin says:

    Oh, this reminds me of my trip Italy-Istanbul by car 🙂 We visited Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia and Bulgaria. It has been such ad adventure 🙂 Lol

  2. yes, beautiful trip… i’d like to do it again!

Leave a Reply

